Uppsala Lectures in Business

Uppsala Lectures in Business is a series of lectures that has been arranged annually by the Department of Business Studies at Uppsala University since 1984. At these lectures the invited speakers give three lectures on a topic of their choice.

The first speaker was Professor Edith Penrose, at the time professor at INSEAD in France, well-known for her classical book The Theory of the Growth of the Firm. She has been followed by a row of distinguished scholars and a number of the lectures have been published in the series Acta Universitatis Upsaliensis. Studia Oeconomiae Negotiorum.

  • Sarah Kaplan föreläser.
  • Eero Vaara föreläser. Foto.
  • Eero Vaara föreläser. Foto.
  • Eero Vaara föreläser. Foto.
  • Saras D. Sarasvathy. Foto.
    Saras D. Sarasvathy 2019
  • Saras D. Sarasvathy föreläser. Foto.
  • Saras D. Sarasvathy föreläser. Foto.
  • Haridimos Tsoukas. Foto.
    Haridimos Tsoukas 2018
  • Haridimos Tsoukas föreläser. Foto.
  • Nicole Coviello föreläser. Foto.
    Nicole Coviello 2017
  • Nicole Coviello. Foto.
  • Andrew Van de Ven. Foto.
    Andrew Van de Ven 2016
  • Andrew Van de Ven föreläser. Foto.

Previous Lectures

  • 2022 Sarah Kaplan, University of Toronto, Canada
  • 2021 Eero Vaara, University of Oxford, UK
  • 2019 Saras D. Sarasvathy, University of Virginia, USA
  • 2018 Haridimos Tsoukas, University of Cyprus, Cyprus; and Warwick Business School, University of Warwick, UK
  • 2017 Nicole Coviello, Lazaridis School of Business & Economics, Wilfrid Laurier University, Ontario, Canada
  • 2016 Andrew Van de Ven, Carlson School, University of Minnesota, USA
  • 2015 Robert S. Kaplan, Harvard Business School, USA
  • 2014 John Roberts, University of Sydney Business School, Australia
  • 2013 Gerald Davis, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan, USA
  • 2012 Shaker A. Zahra, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, USA
  • 2011 Christine Musselin, Centre de Sociologie des Organisations (CSO) Paris, France
  • 2010 John R. Kimberly, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • 2009 William H. Starbuck, The Charles H. Lundquist College of Business, University of Oregon, USA
  • 2008 Sidney Winter, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • 2007 Marie-Laure Djelic, ESSEC Business School, Paris, France
  • 2006 Peter Miller, The London School of Economics, UK
  • 2005 Eleanor Westney, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • 2004 Arie Y. Lewin, Duke University, USA
  • 2003 Christian Grönroos, Swedish School of Economics and Business Administration, Helsinki, Finland
  • 2002 H.Thomas Johnson, Portland State University, USA
  • 2001 Gianni Lorenzoni, University of Bologna, Italy
  • 2000 Stephen R. Barley, Stanford University, USA
  • 1999 Eric von Hippel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • 1998 Robert Scapens, University of Manchester, UK
  • 1997 Walter W. Powell, University of Arizona, USA
  • 1996 Neil Fligstein, University of California at Berkeley, USA
  • 1995 Peter Smith Ring, Loyola College, Los Angeles, USA
  • 1994 Erhard Friedberg, Centre de sociologie des organisations, Paris, France
  • 1993 Michael Bromwich, London School of Economics, UK
  • 1992 Horst Albach, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin, Germany
  • 1991 Harold Demsetz, University of California at Los Angeles, USA
  • 1990 Robert Cooper, University of Lancaster, UK
  • 1989 Henry Mintzberg, McGill University, Canada; and Rosemary Stewart, Oxford University, UK
  • 1988 James G. March, Stanford University, USA
  • 1987 Ikujiro Nonaka, Hitotsubashi University, Japan
  • 1986 Peter Buckley, University of Bradford, UK
  • 1985 Howard Aldrich, University of North Carolina, USA
  • 1984 Edith Penrose, INSEAD, France
Last modified: 2022-11-24